Soccer News NetBig Apple SoccerLA Soccer NewsChicagoland Soccer NewsDallas Soccer NewsPhilly Soccer NewsNew England Soccer NewsLA Soccer News HomeD.C. Soccer NewsSunshine Soccer News


November 28, 2012
UCLA'S Bywaters makes the list

Pac-12 Player of the Year Zakiya Bywaters has been selected as a semifinalist for the MAC Hermann Trophy, awarded to the nation's top collegiate soccer player

Bywaters, a senior forward from Las Vegas, Nev., led the Pac-12 in scoring with 15 goals, 34 points and six game-winning goals to earn top conference honors and first-team All-Pac-12 acclaim for the second consecutive year. It was a breakout year for the Bruin team co-captain, who entered the season with career totals of 8 goals and 33 points and surpassed those totals in just one season. She finishes her career with 23 goals, 21 assists, and 67 points.

Bywaters started 21 of 23 games this year while battling through injuries. She was named the Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Week twice and earned Soccer America National Player of the Week after scoring four goals and adding an assist in a pair of shutout wins over eventual NCAA Tournament teams Princeton and Pepperdine. She totaled five multiple-goal games and helped lead UCLA to an 18-3-2 overall record, NCAA Quarterfinal appearance, and a school-record 25-match unbeaten streak that ran from Oct. 14, 2011 to Oct. 28, 2012.

She is also on the ballot for the Soccer News Net College Boot

Several players from this year’s Watch List were named semifinalists. On the men’s side, Connecticut’s Carlos Alvarez (Los Angeles), Coastal Carolina’s Ashton Bennett (Claredon, Jamaica), Akron’s Scott Caldwell (Braintree, Mass.), Georgetown’s Steve Neumann (New Hope, Pa.), and New Mexico’s Devon Sandoval (Albuquerque, N.M.).

On the women’s side, Watch List players turned semifinalists include Duke’s Natasha Anasi (Arlington, Texas), UCLA’s Zakiya Bywaters (Las Vegas), North Carolina’s Crystal Dunn (Rockville Centre, N.Y.), Florida State’s Ines Jaurena (Charenton-le-Pont, France), BYU’s Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall (Park City, Utah), Boston College’s Kristen Mewis (Hanson, Mass.), Virginia’s Carolina Miller (Rockville, Md.), Florida’s Erika Tymrak (Bradenton, Fla.), and Penn State’s Maya Hayes (West Orange, N.J.) and Christine Nairn (Arnold, Md.).

The top three vote-getters for each gender will be announced Thursday, Dec. 6. The winner will be announced during the MAC Hermann Trophy banquet in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 11, 2013.

Contact Us | Help | Advertising Information | Terms of Use |Privacy Policy | Site Map
Sports Vue Interactive
© 2014 Sports Vue Interactive, LLC All Rights Reserved